Student Stories – Danielle Katz: Circle of Production Life

Hi, it’s Danielle Katz again with another update on advertising, proofreading, and the box office.

Things with ads are coming to an end as we get closer to this weekend…Typesetting Weekend…when all of the ads are proofread until they are correct and placed into the final order for the playbill. I’ve hit my class goal of $595 and my personal goal of $1,000 (Mr. Danielson gives you really good cookies if you sell that much), and I’m so proud of the people in the cast and crew who have hit their $595 and those who have kept selling as well.

As previously mentioned, we need one final large push in ads selling to get to where we need to be in order to make Hairspray as great as any past PPP productions. The proofreading crew has made my job as one of the proofreading chairmen so much easier than last year! Erica Alexander, Olivia Gregory and Victoria Roberson have played major roles in keeping everything on track, and I am very happy with their work.

Last but not least, box office. The first discount code is now available! It’s HAIRSPRAY2 and gives $2 off of any adult tickets on every night except for Opening Night (which is in two weeks!). Ticket sales should spike up pretty soon because of that, but, as usual, many tickets are purchased at the last minute. I’m excited for the rush.

With writing these blog posts, I’ve realized many things. One of them, the one I feel like sharing right now, is that each of my jobs is connected to another one of my duties, not just to the PPP but to each other as well. It starts with ads and then connects to box office, because I make sure all the advertising money records are accurate and then bring the money to the box office, deposit it and update our records down there too. Ads connects to proofreading because after we file the ads, the typesetters set the ads and then the proofreading crew looks over them again. I see the ads multiple times and am aware of how things should be. The box office connects back to both ads and proofreading because people go through me to buy tickets and end up seeing my work in the playbill during the show.

It’s a circle of life, well in production that is. It’s a kind of crazy life, but that’s one reason why I love it.

Leave a comment